Explore other years
by clicking below.
Detail from Augustus Koch,
Austin, State Capital of Texas, 1887.
Austin History Center, Austin Public Library.
For the full map, click
Harvey North, a real estate investor, and his wife Catherine have
transformed the eastern half of the block. In 1874 they built
" on the north edge. Then, when the
Panic of 1879
built the 4-story tenant house
on the south edge (against the wall of an old
quarry) to help maintain their income. They also built the
at 706 San Antonio, intending it as
a music studio for their