Explore other years
by clicking below.
Detail from Augustus Koch,
Austin, State Capital of Texas, 1887.
Austin History Center, Austin Public Library.
For the full map, click
A few more buildings have turned up.
The house on the northeast corner, at 1012 Rio Grande, belongs to John O.
Johnson, the City Clerk. (Not sure what his relation was to Mrs. Ben and James R. Johnson,
who are listed here in the 1872 City
.) He lived here with his family through the early 1900s.