Explore other years
by clicking below.
Detail from Sanborn Insurance Map of Austin, Texas,
1900, Sheet 35. For the key to the map, click here.
To access the map through the Austin Public Library, click
As of 1905 Mary Goodwin Sampson was still living at the Sampson
. Her daughter Asher was there too, living in a separate building with her husband,
Asher G. Smoot.
Mary's other daughter, Georgia, apparently wasn't there at this point. In 1896 she had married Ernest Nalle,
the son of Joseph Nalle, who founded the Nalle Lumber Company and served as Mayor in 1888-89.
The house at 1007 Rio Grande was occupied at this point by Franz Fiset, an attorney
and relative of the Henricks family.
Sources: Sue Brandt McBee, Austin: The Past Still Present, Heritage
Society of Austin, 1975, pg.78; 1905 City Directory and Chronology of 1007 Rio Grande,
Austin History Center, Austin Public Library.